Harry Potter Series: Chocolate Frog

I was thinking of pausing a bit with this series due to some project that I can’t share yet to the world. Aaagh, excited here!  It’s finished actually. My illustrations were submitted weeks ago but because of the tight deadline and the bulk of painting I did (or so I think), I wanted to rest my hands for a while and just brainstorm. However, I realized that I haven’t even reached yet half the number of my total illustrations for this! So before total laziness creeps back into my system , I went back to my desk and finished this piece. I’m happy with how it turned out. It felt great too because now I know I can draw a frog. A chocolate frog! That’s two subjects in one piece, ha!

ChocoFrog_IG

My inspiration was from the first film, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, when Harry first learned about this candy from Ron Weasley while on board the train to Hogwarts. The accents in the background were from the designs in the packaging.

Materials used were Canson Montval 300 gsm watercolor paper, Winsor and Newton Cotman paints, Raw Umber and Ultramarine Blue handmade watercolors from @seamountainco, Rotring chinese ink, Uniball Signo white pen and Sakura Gelly Rolls in clear and gold.

Leave a Reply

