Harry Potter Series: Butterbeer and Florean Fortescue

Last year, my friend Ina suggested that I do another illustration series inspired by Harry Potter. I actually liked the idea but it would be challenging because obviously, it’s fictional. I’ve never been to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter also so I only have the books, the films and of course, the internet for research. But I love the Harry Potter series so I think that doing this would really help me get back in the groove and besides, I need to exercise more my imagination after being stuck in a rut for a couple of months.

So for this series, I’ve decided to create twelve illustrations. I can’t do them daily because 1) I have a day job to focus on so painting only happens at night after work and 2) since I don’t know what a certain HP food looks like, research will take time. I’m sharing them on Instagram every three days and this week, I was able to post already two works – Butterbeer and Florean Fortescue’s Soft Serve Ice Cream.

 

butterbeer_ig

Both illustrations were painted using Winsor and Newton Cotman paints and Fabriano 300gsm cold-pressed papers. Other materials were Chinese white ink, Uniball Signo white pen and a small Kuratake water brush for the letters.

If you’ve noticed, aside from the actual drawing, I also included a ‘lettering’ of sort of the food’s name. This is so when other people see my work, they would instantly recognize that it’s from Harry Potter and not just some local food *I think this idea applies only to HP fans? haha*. Besides, I also wanted to practice how to do gradients through letters and a small water brush helps me achieve this.

fortescue_ig

What do you think of this new series? I already have a list of the twelve items I’d like to paint but if there’s anyone out there who is an HP fan like me and if you have a suggestion that you’d like for me to paint, just comment or send me a message and I’ll do my best to work on it soon.

Monique :)

 

 

Leave a Reply

