Barbecued Spareribs

It’s been a month since I resigned from my work as a Marketing Assistant for a multinational oil and gas company. I kind of miss my daily routine there, and of course my friends whom I’ve been with for almost two years.

Payment and Loyalty Team, April 2015

Payment and Loyalty Team, April 2015

On my last day, my manager was kind enough to give me a send-off lunch at The Flying Pan in Valero, Makati. Most of us ordered their Barbecued Spareribs, as illustrated below.

Barbecued Spareribs

Barbecued Spareribs

This is the first illustration I’ve made using my newly bought Winsor and Newton paints. If you’ve read my previous post regarding my creative goals, I mentioned that I wanted to upgrade my tools, just a way to motivate myself. I hope its working as watercolor supplies are expensive here in the Philippines. Boo! Anyway, I used three brands of paints for this illustration namely Prang, Dr. Ph Martin Radiant Concentrated Watercolor and Winsor and Newton Cotman paints. A little gouache and white ink here and there for some of the details. Despite the errors on the rice bowl (I always ruin a part of my artwork, clumsy me), I really enjoyed making this. Three reasons: first, I got to test my Cotman paints; second, I think this was my second best work after the pies and tarts artwork; and lastly, my only illustration with the plate looking really like a plate! (at least on first glance, ha!) I’m a little frustrated with glassware and silverware but with constant practice, hopefully I’ll improve. If you have comments and/or points for improvement on my illustrations, please feel free to share it at the comment box below. Thank you so much for reading!

Leave a Reply

